City Council Districts

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

In July 2017 the Carlsbad City Council voted to change the way City Council members are elected, creating four districts. In 2022 district boundaries were adjusted by an independent redistricting commission to ensure each district has about the name number of people based on the latest census. See larger map

Look up your district by address

2022 district map

What changed since 2017 

The new map is shown below along with outlines of the previous map to see what changed.


2022 district map

See the map up close.

Find out more about the 2022 redistricting.

Election schedule 

Carlsbad City Council members serve staggered four-year terms. The Mayor, City Clerk and City Treasurer are elected by voters citywide. 

November 2022

District 1
District 3
City Clerk

November 2024

District 2
District 4


Empty headingDistrict elections explaine