City Departments

Print
Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

If you're not sure which department you need to reach, you can always call us at City Hall, 442-339-2820 or email help@carlsbadca.gov, and we'll be happy to get you to the right person.

City org chart

Org chart 08-01-2022

 

Links to pages for our main departments and services are listed on the left. Below is a quick directory with some of the most frequently requested contacts.

Frequently requested contacts

General inquiries and requests

 

City Manager's Office
442-339-2820
help@carlsbadca.gov

Administrative Services Branch
442-339-2430

Laura Rocha, Deputy City Manager, Administrative Services 
finance@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2415

Building inspections

bldginspections@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2700
Building permits building@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2719

Business License Office
finance@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2495

Jason Rosado, Finance Manager 
jason.rosado@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2473

City Manager’s Office
manager@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2820

 

 

Scott Chadwick, City Manager 
scott.chadwick@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2820

Geoff Patnoe, Assistant City Manager
geoff.patnoe@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2821

City Clerk's Office
clerk@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2808

Faviola Medina, Clerk Services Manager
faviola.medina@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-5989

Communication & Engagement
communications@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-5352
Kristina Ray, Communication & Engagement Director
kristina.ray@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2957

Community Development
442-339-2710

Jeff Murphy, Community Development Director
jeff.murphy@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2710 

Code Enforcement 

codeenforcement@carlsbadca.gov
codecompliance@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2703

Community Services Branch

Gary Barberio, Deputy City Manager, Community Services 
gary.barberio@carlsbadca.gov 
442-339-2822

Construction Management & Inspection
cmi@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2780 

Emily Hasegawa, Engineering Manager
emily.hasegawa@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-5763

Cultural Arts Office
arts@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2090

Cultural Arts Manager (Vacant)

 

Development Services
442-339-2710

Jeremy Riddle, Development Services Manager
jeremy.riddle@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2785

Emergency Operations

Kim Young, Assistant Director of Emergency Services
kim.young@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2152

Environmental Sustainability
environmental@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2729 

James Wood, Environmental Sustainability Director
james.wood@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2729

Sustainable Materials Management
reducereuserecycle@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2646

Avecita Jones, Senior Program Manager
avecita.jones@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2542

Finance
finance@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2430

Zach Korach, Finance Director 
zach.korach@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2127

Fire (non-emergencies)
firemail@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2141

Michael Calderwood, Fire Chief
michael.calderwood@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2141 

Housing & Homeless Services
housing@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2810

Mandy Mills, Housing & Homeless Services Director
mandy.mills@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2907

Human Resources
hr@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2440

Judy von Kalinowski, Human Resources Director
judy.vonkalinowski@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2438

Information Technology
442-339-2450

Maria Callander, IT Director
maria.callander@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2454

Innovation & Economic Development
442-339-2222 

David Graham, Chief Innovation Officer
david.graham@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-5992 

Library
librarian@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2049

Suzanne Smithson, Library & Cultural Arts Director
suzanne.smithson@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2010

Parks & Recreation
parksandrec@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2826

Kyle Lancaster, Parks & Recreation Director
kyle.lancaster@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2941

Planning
planning@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2600

Eric Lardy, City Planner
eric.lardy@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2600

Police (non-emergencies)
police@carlsbadca.gov
760-931-2197

Christie Calderwood, Police Chief
christie.calderwood@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2216

Public Works Branch
442-339-2730

Paz Gomez, Deputy City Manager, Public Works
paz.gomez@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2751

Streets and Storm Drain Maintenance
442-339-2980

Michael O'Brien, Public Works Superintendent
michael.obrien@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2996

Sewer
wastewater@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2722
(sewer emergencies after hours:
760-931-2197)

Water and Utilities
water@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2722

Utility Billing
utilitybilling@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2420                      

Utilities Director (vacant)

Transportation
transportation@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2746

Tom Frank, Transportation Director/City Engineer
tom.frank@carlsbadca.gov
442-339-2766